|LICENSES/FEES | ELECTIONS/VOTING | RECORD SEARCH FORMS | BOARD DISTRICTS/PRECINCTS | OFFICIALS | TAX RATES|
Information on obtaining a
Civil Union License In LaSalle County, Illinois
This brochure provided by the office of:
LaSalle County Clerk 707 E Etna Rd
P.O. Box 430 Ottawa IL 61350
Phone (815) 434-8202
Revised December 1, 2022
WHERE TO APPLY:
Office of Lori Bongartz, LaSalle County Clerk, 707 E. Etna Rd, Ottawa, IL, 61350.
Our office hours are 8:00-4:30pm, Monday-Friday. We kindly ask that you arrive by 4:00 pm to allow sufficient time to issue the civil union license. The LaSalle County Clerk’s office is closed on the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Lincoln’s Birthday, President’s Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Day, the day after Thanksgiving, and Christmas Day.
Please note: If a holiday falls on a Saturday, the office will be closed on the preceding Friday. If a holiday falls on a Sunday, the office will be closed on the following Monday.
WHEN TO APPLY:
Both parties must appear in person when applying for a civil union license. Illinois law requires that the civil union license must be applied for and issued at least one day prior to the ceremony. Once issued, the civil union license is valid for 60 days. If the civil union license is not used during that 60 day period, the license becomes void. Please contact our office if the license is not used.
PROOF OF AGE:
It is necessary to provide proof of age when applying for a civil union license. A valid driver’s license, state issued photo I.D., a valid passport or a certified birth certificate are acceptable proof. Illinois law requires that you must be at least 18 years of age to obtain a civil union license.
USE OF CIVIL UNION LICENSE:
Your civil union license must be obtained in the county where the civil union ceremony will take place. A civil union license is not transferable for use in any other county or state. Non-residents cannot obtain a civil union license if the said civil union would be void in their state.
WHO CAN CERTIFY A CIVIL UNION:
A civil union may be certified by a judge, a retired judge of a court of record, or in accordance with the rules of any religion, Indian Nation or Tribe provided that any required officiant is in good standing.
CIVIL UNION BY A JUDGE:
If you wish to be certified by a judge, you must make your own arrangements at least one week prior to the ceremony by calling (815) 434-0786. Judges conduct civil union ceremonies from 1:00-1:30 pm weekdays only. Witnesses are not required.
The fee for a civil union license is $35.00 payable at the time of application.
No physical examination or blood test is required to obtain a civil union license in Illinois.
OBTAINING A CERTIFIED COPY
A certified copy of your civil union license issued in LaSalle County may be obtained from the LaSalle County Clerk’s office either in person or through the mail. If requesting your certified copy through the mail, please send a written request including the names of both partners, the date of the civil union, and the fee of $18.00. Each additional certified copy issued of the same license at the same time can be obtained for $5.00 each.