|LICENSES/FEES | ELECTIONS/VOTING | RECORD SEARCH FORMS | BOARD DISTRICTS/PRECINCTS | OFFICIALS | TAX RATES|
Information on obtaining a
Marriage License In LaSalle County, Illinois
This brochure provided by the office of:
LaSalle County Clerk 707 E Etna Rd
P.O. Box 430 Ottawa IL 61350
Phone (815) 434-8202
Revised August 24, 2022
WHERE TO APPLY
Office of Lori Bongartz, LaSalle County Clerk, 707 E.Etna Road, Ottawa, Illinois 61350.
Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday – Friday. Telephone (815) 434-8202. We kindly ask that you arrive by 4:00 p.m. to allow sufficient time to issue the marriage license.
WHEN TO APPLY
Both the parties must appear in person when applying for a marriage license. Illinois law requires that the marriage license must be applied for and issued at least one day prior to the marriage ceremony. For example, if you are to be married on a Friday, the license must be applied for and issued no later than Thursday. The one day waiting period may be waived by petitioning the court for an exception to the law. Once issued, the marriage license is valid for 60 days. If the marriage license is not used during that 60 day period the license becomes void. If the marriage license is not used please notify this office.
PROOF OF AGE
It is necessary to provide proof of age when applying for a marriage license. A state issued photo I.D., a driver’s license, a valid passport or a certified birth certificate are acceptable proof.
ILLINOIS AGE REQUIREMENTS
Illinois law requires that you must have attained the age of 18 years to be married without parental consent. If you are 16 or 17 years of age BOTH PARENTS must appear in person to sign a parental consent form at the time the parties apply for the marriage license. When one parent cannot be located, law provides for one consenting parent to the marriage to complete an affidavit stating that they have exhausted all means of locating the second parent without success. If this requirement cannot be met due to a parent being deceased, a death certificate, proof of guardianship or court order waiving consent must be presented.
Illinois law prohibits the marriage of anyone under the age of 16. In that case, you may want to seek legal advice. This office cannot provide legal advice.
PERSONS WHO MAY NOT MARRY
Certain marriages are prohibited in Illinois. These include marriages entered into prior to the dissolution of an earlier marriage of one of the parties; those between an ancestor and a descendant or between a brother and sister, whether the relationship is by the half or the whole blood or by adoption; and those between an uncle and a niece or between an aunt and a nephew. Generally, marriages between cousins of the first degree are prohibited; however, first cousins may marry if……both parties are 50 years of age or older; or…either party, at the time the couple applies for a marriage license, presents to the county clerk of the county in which the marriage is to take place a certificate signed by a licensed physician stating that the party to the proposed marriage is permanently and irreversibly sterile.
USE OF MARRIAGE LICENSE
Your marriage license must be obtained in the county where the marriage ceremony will take place. A marriage license is not transferrable for use in any other county or state. If you are unsure in which county your marriage ceremony will be performed, contact this office for assistance.
MARRIAGE BY A JUDGE
If you wish to be married by a judge, you must make your own arrangements at least 1 week prior to the ceremony by calling (815) 434-0786. Judges conduct marriage ceremonies on Wednesdays and Fridays. Witnesses are not required.
The fee for a marriage license from the LaSalle County Clerk’s office is $35.00 payable at the time of application.
No premarital physical examination or blood test is required to obtain a marriage license in Illinois.
OBTAINING A CERTIFIED COPY
A copy of your marriage license issued in LaSalle County may be obtained from the County Clerk’s Office. In a written request, include the names of the parties as they appear on the marriage application, the date of marriage and the fee of $18.00. An additional copy of the same certificate issued at the same time may be obtained for $5.00. Address your request to:
LaSalle County Clerk
707 E.Etna Road
P.O. Box 430
Ottawa, IL 61350
Telephone: (815) 434-8202
The County Clerk’s Office is closed on the following Holidays. Please call ahead to verify our holiday schedule: New Years Day, Lincoln’s Birthday, President’s Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Day, the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas Day.
Please note: If a holiday falls on a Saturday, the County Clerk’s Office will be closed on the preceding Friday.
If a holiday falls on a Sunday, the County Clerk’s Office will be closed on the following Monday.